Weapon Permits

PERMIT TO CARRY WEAPONS INFORMATION:

APPLICATIONS MUST BE MADE IN PERSON TO THE SHERIFF IN YOUR COUNTY OF RESIDENCE

The cost is $50.00 for a plastic permit card. This is a uniform card that will be issued by the Iowa Department of Public Safety after January 1, 2018. This card will be mailed directly to the mailing address provided by the applicant;

Must be 21 and a resident of Iowa;

TRAINING REQUIREMENT:

*Handgun safety training course utilizing an instructor certified by a state law enforcement agency;

*Handgun safety training course utilizing an instructor certified by the National Rifle Association;

*Completion of a hunter education program approved by the Natural Resource Commission, if handgun safety training is noted on the certificate of completion;

*Armed forces small arms training (for those released or retired from Active Duty) - requires documentation of honorable discharge OR general discharge under honorable conditions (DD-214, DD-256, NGB-22, or similar);

*Armed forces small arms training (for those on Active Duty) - requires certificate of completion of basic training or similar;

*Handgun safety training course for security guards, investigators, or special deputies, if such course has been approved by the Iowa Department of Public Safety.

*TRAINING EXEMPTION - Documentation that applicant holds or held an Iowa Permit to Carry Weapons issued on or after 01/01/2011;

Applicant must apply in county you reside in;

Applicant must have driver's license or ID with applicant's current address on it;

Payment must be made at time of application;

There is an approximate 1-2 week waiting period;

Permit is good for 5 years.

PERMIT TO CARRY WEAPONS RENEWAL PROCESS:

APPLICATIONS MUST BE MADE IN PERSON TO THE SHERIFF IN YOUR COUNTY OF RESIDENCE

Permit holders may apply for renewal within 30 days before or after their expiration date. The application must be filled out again and a $25.00 fee is payable at that time;

When the permit holder is earlier or later than 30 days of expiration, the regular fee of $50.00 applies;

No additional training is required;

Applicant must renew in county you reside in;

Applicant must have driver's license or ID with applicant's current address on it;

Payment must be made at time of application;

There is an approximate 1-2 week waiting period;

Permit is good for 5 years.


PERMIT TO CARRY WEAPONS CLASS INFORMATION:
Please contact our office for the date of the next Carry Class at 319-753-8212.

The class will take approximately two hours. You will need to bring your driver's license or ID with your current address on it. The class costs $60 and the permit fee is $50. You will need pay both the training and permit fee at the time of the class. We only accept cash or checks. The application for the carry permit will be filled out at the class, if you reside in Des Moines County. If you do not reside in Des Moines County, a certificate will be issued for you to take to your county of residence.

You will need to contact the Sheriff's Office to sign up for the training. We are limiting the class to 20 people and you have to be on the list in order to attend.

Call 319-753-8212 or stop by the Sheriff's office to sign up.

PERMIT TO ACQUIRE INFORMATION:

APPLICATIONS MUST BE MADE IN PERSON TO THE SHERIFF IN YOUR COUNTY OF RESIDENCE

Must be 21 and a resident of Iowa;

The cost is $40 for a plastic permit card. This is a uniform card that will be issued by the Iowa Department of Public Safety after January 1, 2018. This card will be mailed directly to the mailing address provided by the applicant;

There is no training required;

Applicant must apply in county you reside in;

Payment must be made at time of application;

Applicant must have driver's license or ID with applicant's current address on it;

There is an approximate 1-2 week waiting period;

Permit is good for 5 years.


DUPLICATE PERMIT PROCESS:

Lost or destroyed permits can be replaced by completing an application and paying the duplicate fee of $25 for the permit to carry and $20 for the permit to acquire. This process requires another background check. Applicant must have driver's license or ID with applicant's current address on it. The waiting period is approximately 1-2 weeks.  APPLICATIONS MUST BE MADE IN PERSON TO THE SHERIFF IN YOUR COUNTY OF RESIDENCE.